BE EDUCATED. BE RESPONSIBLE.
You must have a Colorado Medical Marijuana card
In order to purchase, possess, or use medical marijuana, you must have a valid medical marijuana card issued by the state of Colorado. See below for information on obtaining your medical marijuana card. If you are over 21 and do not possess a medical marijuana card, you may still shop at recreational dispensaries, including Colorado Weedery.
How do I obtain/renew a Colorado Medical marijuana card?
Only certain chronic conditions qualify for medical marijuana. If you live with any of them, you will need to make an appointment with a certified physician for an evaluation. Once you’ve been given the referral for a medical marijuana card, you’ll need to submit an application to the state.
What conditions qualify for a medical marijuana card in Colorado?
AIDS, cachexia, cancer, glaucoma, HIV, persistent muscle spasms, PTSD, seizures, severe nausea, severe pain, and other pending conditions are all qualifiers.
If I have a medical marijuana card from another state, can I get medical marijuana in Colorado?
No, Colorado is a “non-reciprocating” state. You may still purchase and use recreational (adult-use) cannabis.
How do I find a doctor to evaluate me for a medical marijuana card?
You can find certified physicians here: https://www.marijuanadoctors.com/medical-marijuana-doctors/co/
Where do I submit my medical marijuana application?
Some doctors’ offices will help you submit your application. Otherwise, you can submit it electronically here: https://medicalmarijuana.colorado.gov/state-co-entellitrak/login.request.do or mail it in. Online applications generally take 1-3 days for approval; mailed applications take 6-8 weeks for processing.
You can only buy and hold so much at a time
Medical marijuana patients can purchase up to 2 ounces of medical marijuana per day. Patients are allowed to have up to 2 ounces of medical marijuana in their possession at any time.
Only buy from a licensed retailer
Licensed retail locations (dispensaries and caregivers) are the only legal places to purchase medical marijuana. It is illegal for any individual to buy or sell marijuana without a state and local marijuana license.
There’s a limit to how much you can grow
Coloradans can grow marijuana in their homes for personal use. Up to 12 plants are allowed per medical marijuana patient, with as many as six plants flowering at one time. Plants must be grown in a secure, locked location, not in a yard. Counties and municipalities can pass stricter laws. Check your local laws for specific details.
Don’t share medical marijuana
It’s illegal to share your medical marijuana with anyone. If you share, you could have your medical marijuana license revoked or face jail time.
What is CBD and how can it help?
Cannabidiol (CBD) is a cannabinoid (like THC) that has its own medicinal properties. Learn more about CBD at projectcbd.org.
Use it on private property, not public space
Using marijuana in any form (smoking, eating or vaping) isn’t allowed in public places, including amusement parks, ski resorts, sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads, marijuana retail businesses, bars, restaurants and outdoor or rooftop cafes.
So where can you use it? Marijuana use is legal within the confines of private property. Just keep in mind that property owners, landlords, and rental companies can ban the use and possession of marijuana on their premises.
Federal land is under federal law
Marijuana is legal by state of Colorado law. Federally? Not so much. If you’re on federal land, such as a national park or a national forest, you can’t even have it in your possession.
Keep it in Colorado
It’s illegal to leave Colorado with any marijuana products. Additionally, Denver International Airport has banned the possession of marijuana products on its property.
Don’t drive high
It’s illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. If you get caught, you could be charged with a DUI. By law, you can’t drive if you have five nanograms or more of THC in your system. As a rule of thumb, if you’re smoking, wait at least six hours before driving. If you’re ingesting, wait at least eight.
Keep it sealed in your car
If you have marijuana in your car, make sure it’s sealed, unused, and out of reach. It’s illegal to open and use any marijuana in a vehicle. That goes for both the passenger and the driver. Stay legal and safe—keep it sealed.
If pregnant or breastfeeding, talk to your doctor
There is no known safe amount of marijuana use while pregnant or breastfeeding. Speak with your doctor before using cannabis.
For more detailed information on Colorado’s cannabis laws, regulations, and guidelines, please visit Responsibility Grows Here – an online resource from the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment.